Kinetic Gal – when not in Costume and Character!

I had some tiny tots (okay, not so tiny. LOL!) asking me during show and party what I do in my free time… I guess they must be curious as to what a magician/juggler does when we are not doing magic, or not juggling and performing for them. Of course, besides the regular practice and rehearsals that i have – for magic, juggling and ballooning, Kinetic Gal has other interests as well.

Honestly saying, it’s not that easy to find ‘free’ time, so it also depends on my mood and the timing of the ‘free’ space of time i have.

On a more quiet and relaxing afternoon, when i do have the time, i love reading. Kinetic Gal is a closet bookworm! πŸ˜› Often the books that i read are related very much to what i study, as well as my interest. Most of the time, you can find me armed with Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta series novels; Jeffery Deaver’s Lincoln Rhyme series novels or some marketing books. πŸ™‚ I’m also a chinese swordsfighting and science fiction novel fan. Kinetic Gal can memorise poems from JinYong’s Legend of the Condor Heroes series! (Book geek!) *grin*

Besides books, you’d find me messing around with the electronic piano at home. I have a grade 3 level in piano, and while i no longer learn piano, i still like to mess around with the instrument a bit. Hahaha! I used to have a real piano, which had to be sold off when i shifted. Now i have an electronic piano, which i share with my bro, and it is really cool, because i can play in the middle of the night without the fear of waking up neighbours, by just simply plugging in the headphone – which is usually what i like to do! πŸ˜›

Kinetic Gal @ The Piano!

Kinetic Gal @ The Piano!

Besides the very seemingly ‘nerdy and geeky’ kind of stuff i do, Kinetic Gal loves arts! On some days without shows, you’d find me in the art museum or with a sketchbook or rice paper at home! I have never taken any ‘proper’ art modules before, but still very much in love with arts, hence various experiments with different art forms.

Past Painting

Past Painting by me... Not very nicely done, but one of the few i kept.

Caricature Experiment

Caricature Experiment

I had did a caricature once, of Tyra Banks, which happens to be my favourite and best (or so i thought, at least) caricature. It was however lost. 😦

IfΒ  i have a little more time and I’m feeling more active and hyper, you wouldn’t be able to find me at home! More than likely, you’d find me at the basketball court, or badminton court, or anything along the likes! LOL!

As my name also suggest (KINETIC!), I cannot keep still for long, hence, I also really love sports! I used to be in the table tennis school team, and still play badminton actively. Sports that i love and think i do pretty okay at the recreational level, include swimming, table tennis, badminton, squash and bowling. My highest record for bowling stands at 195 points… I hold a 3rd level Dolphin certificate (equivalent to silver) for swimming and a 7th Kyu Orange C certificate in Aikido (don’t mess with me! πŸ˜‰ ). Kinetic Gal is also learning unicycling – more for fun than anything else. πŸ™‚

There are a whole lot more of stuff that i love, including movies and cooking! πŸ˜› Now, the only problem comes… There’s not enough of me to go around doing so many things! I think Kinetic Gal needs a clone! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

